Producer Council

Producer Council

Current Council

The Beef Cattle Research Council (BCRC) members represent each of the provincial organizations of beef producers that allocate part of the Canadian Beef Cattle Check-Off to research. The number of members from each province is proportional to the amount of provincial allocation to research. Members of the BCRC are representatives of provincial organizations and are appointed by them. As members of the provincial organization, they must be beef producers, and therefore pay the Canadian Beef Cattle Check-Off on all of their cattle that are sold.

The following is a series to introduce you to this group of innovative thinkers that set BCRC’s direction by sharing practices, strategies, or technologies that they have integrated into their own operations.

British Columbia
Jeff Braisher, Beef Cattle Research Council Member from BC
Jeff Braisher
Lyle Adams, Beef Cattle Research Council Member from Alberta
Lyle Adams
Fred Lozeman, Beef Cattle Research Council Member and finance chair from Alberta
Fred Lozeman
(Finance Chair)
John Doherty, Beef Cattle Research Council Member from Alberta
John Doherty
Graeme Finn, BCRC council member from Alberta
Graeme Finn
Lee Irvine, , Beef Cattle Research Council Member from Alberta
Lee Irvine 
Craig Lehr, Beef Cattle Research Council Chair, Alberta
Craig Lehr 
Ryan Beierbach, BCRC council member from Saskatchewan
Ryan Beierbach
Roger Meyers, Beef Cattle Research Council Member from Saskatchewan
Roger Meyers
Michael Spratt, BCRC council member from Saskatchewan
Michael Spratt
Melissa Atchison, Beef Cattle Research Council Member from Manitoba
Melissa Atchison
Trevor Sund, Beef Cattle Research Council Member from Manitoba
 Trevor Sund
Matt Bowman, BCRC chair from Ontario
Matt Bowman 
Ron Stevenson, Beef Cattle Research Council Member and vice chair, from Ontario
Ron Stevenson 
(Vice Chair)

Nathalie Côté, BCRC Ex-Officio member from Quebec
Nathalie Côté (Ex-Officio)
Dean Manning, BCRC council member
Dean Manning

Past Members

British Columbia
  • Jeff Braisher (2019-Present)
  • John Morrison (1999-2001)
  • Harold Starr (Oct. 2001-2013)
  • Dave Zehnder (2013-2019)
  • Lyle Adams (March 2023-Present)
  • Miles Belsheim (2002-2004)
  • Darren Bevans (June 2013-June 2018 and June 2019-Aug. 2023)
  • Charlie Christie (May 2007-2008)
  • Marvin Conrad (June 2004-2006)
  • Don Curtice (Oct. 2001-2006)
  • Darcy Davis (1999-2001)
  • Larry Delver (April 2009-2015)
  • John Doherty (Aug. 2023-Present)
  • Darcy Eddleston (Oct. 2006-2007)
  • Brian Edge (Jan. 2008-June 2016)
  • Graeme Finn (June 2018-Present)
  • Elgar Grinde (1999-2001)
  • Harvey Hagman (2008)
  • Jeff Havens (Oct. 2018-2020)
  • Lee Irvine (March 2021-Present)
  • Chris Israelson (June 2018-March 2021)
  • Murray Kerik (Oct. 2001-2004)
  • Craig Lehr (June 2019-Present)
  • Fred Lozeman (June 2018-Present)
  • Kelly Olson (Oct. 2006-2007)
  • Dianne Panrucker (April 2005-2007)
  • Garth Porteous (2018)
  • John Prentice (1999-2004)
  • Brenda Schoepp (April 2005-2006)
  • Ben Schrader (April 2010-2011)
  • Cathy Sharp (March 2012-June 2013)
  • John Schooten (March 2012-June 2013)
  • Joanne Solverson (May 2020-May 2022)
  • Rob Somerville (2008-2009)
  • Harry Swanson (Oct. 2006-2007)
  • Bryan Thiessen (June 2013-June 2018)
  • Weldon Thomson (1999-2001)
  • Melanie Wowk (June 2016-June 2018)
  • Ryan Beierbach (2012-Present)
  • Wilfred Campbell (1999-2011)
  • Randy Clark (Oct. 2006-2009)
  • Ken Demyan (2014-2015)
  • Calvin Knoss (1999-2006)
  • Roger Meyers (Jan. 2023-Present)
  • Tim Oleksyn (May 2009-June 2018)
  • Steven Pylot (June 2018-Dec. 2022)
  • Michael Spratt (2015-Present)
  • Robin Wiggins (2006)
  • Melissa Atchison (March 2020-Present)
  • Caron Clarke (2013-2016)
  • Bill Finney (2000-2006)
  • Mac McRae (2008-2013)
  • Rodney Pearn (Oct. 2006-2007)
  • Art Petkau (1999-2000)
  • Trevor Sund (Nov. 2021-Present)
  • Larry Wegner (2016-2020)
  • Matt Bowman (April 2009-Present)
  • Rob Lipsett (April 2016-2019)
  • Larry Chanda (2000-2004)
  • Stan Eby (1999-2001)
  • John Gillespie (June 2004-2006)
  • Bob Gordanier (April 2007-2010)
  • Roger Griffiths (Nov. 2003-2006)
  • Bill Herron (March 2011-2014)
  • Jim Martin (April 2007-2008)
  • Ken Mills (2002-2004)
  • Arden Schneckenburger (1999-2000)
  • Ron Stevenson (2019-Present)
  • Nathalie Côté (Ex-Officio, June 2019-Present)
  • Frank Foster (1999-2000)
  • Charlie MacKenzie (Oct. 2001-2013)
  • Dean Manning (June 2018-Present)
  • Nathan Phinney (2015-June 2018)
  • John Tilley (2013-2015)